Codes & Permits
THE FOLLOWING TAX FORMS ARE AVAILABLE AT THE TOWN OFFICE:
Classification & Valuation of land as Farm and C- Space Land (Title 36 M.R.S.A., Section 1101-1121) Application for Exemption from Local Taxation for Veterans
Application for Exemption from Local Taxation - Minor Child or Widowed Mother of a Veteran Maine
Tree Growth Tax Law 4
(Title 36, M.R.S.A., Section 571 - 584 – A Application for Blind Persons Exemption from Property Tax (Title 36, M.R.S.A., Section 654) Application for Abatement of Property Taxes (Section 48, Chapter 91-A, R.S. 1954)
PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS
Applications forms are available at the Town Office or available from the Maine Revenue Services Property Tax Division.
Veterans Exemption - includes widows/widowers of veterans
*62 years of age by April 1
*more than 180 days of service during Vietnam and 1 day of service during other wartime
*WWI - 4/6/1917 to 11/11/1918 inclusive Service in Russia 4/6/1917 to 3/1/1920 inclusive WWII - 12/7/1941 to 12/31/1946 inclusive Korean Conflict - 6/27/1950 to 1/31/1955 inclusive Service in Vietnam 8/5/1964 to 5/7/1975 Vietnam War - 2/28/1961 to 5/7/1975, (must have served in Republic of Vietnam. Persian Gulf War - 8/7/1990 to (to be determined by U.S. Government)
Deadline for filing April 1 Homestead Exemption
Legal resident of the State of Maine and Own and live in a home in Maine for 12 months prior to April 1st of the year requested. Must declare the homestead is the taxpayer's permanent residence and the only property for which the taxpayer has claimed a homestead exemption.
Deadline for filing April 1 Blind Exemption
Deadline for filing April 1