Animal Control

dogAnimal Control Officer: 
Perri Peterson: Cell: 207-659-2158

Municipal Clerks & Dog Recorders Calendar

All dogs in Winterport over 6 months of age must be registered with the Town Office. You will need to provide proof of rabies vaccination and proof of sterilization, if applicable. Dogs need to be re-registered every year and this can be done at the Town Office anytime after October 15th for the new year. 

October 15th Start licensing dogs for the new year$11.00 for Male/Female$ 6.00 for Neuter/Spay
February 1st Late fees for dog licensing takes effect.  $25.00
February 1st – April 1st Complete “Municipal Warrant for Prosecuting Unlicensed Dog Owners/Keepers”
By July 1st Return “Municipal Warrant for Prosecuting Unlicensed Dog Owners/Keepers Questionnaire”

***When off of your property all dogs must be on a leash or under verbal command per Maine State Law.***

Important Animal Links

Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife